الدراسات الدولية والجغرافيا السياسية

تلعب دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي دورا عالميا مهما منذ فترة ليست بالقصيرة لأسباب عديدة على رأسها موقعها الجغرافي المتميز على خطوط التجارة الأوروبية-الأسيوية وتوفر الموارد الطبيعية في أراضيها. وشهدت تلك الدول توسعاً ملحوظاً في طاقتها الاقتصادية في مطلع الألفية الجديدة بسبب ارتفاع أسعار النفط ولتحقيقها إنجازات في التنويع الاقتصادي. كما أن دورها الإقليمي ترسخ بعد الأزمة المالية الدولية في 2008. وانعكست هذه التيارات في التطورات الاقتصادية التي مرت بها مملكة البحرين، خصوصاً تحولها إلى عاصمة عالمية للصيرفة الإسلامية واستقطابها لرؤوس أموال دولية تبحث عن فرص جديدة خارج مناخ الكساد الأوربي.

وانطلاقاً مما سبق، يبحث برنامج الدراسات الدولية والجغرافيا السياسية (International and Geo-Political Studies) الشؤون الدولية التي تتعلق بمملكة البحرين ودول مجلس التعاون، خصوصاً القضايا المتعلقة بالجوانب السياسية والاقتصادية وانعكاساتها على الأمن الوطني والإقليمي والدولي. ويمتلك الارتباط بين البحرين والاقتصاد الدولي أهمية رئيسة، تماماً كما هو الحال مع شؤون قطاعي النفط والمال، فضلاً عن التوجه نحو التكامل الاقتصادي الذي تمضي فيه قدما دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك يبحث البرنامج تأثير أحدث المستجدات الجيو-سياسية على مصالح البحرين ودول مجلس التعاون.

ونتيجة للخصائص الجغرافية لمملكة البحرين، ما زالت كمية البحوث والدراسات الرصينة التي تركز على شؤونها الاقتصادية تنتج بشكل محدود. لذلك يهدف البرنامج المقترح إلى ملأ هذه الفجوة وتصميم مخرجاتها حسب احتياجات صناع القرار في مملكة البحرين ودول مجلس التعاون الخليجي.

وسيحقق البرنامج الأهداف التي تم وضعها من خلال تنفيذ بحوث مبتكرة ومحكّمة في مجال الشؤون الدولية والجيو-سياسية والاقتصادية، ودراسات مقننة وتقارير معلوماتية. وبالإضافة إلى هذه الأهداف، سيعقد البرنامج ندوات وورش عمل تشارك فيها شخصيات محلية وإقليمية وعالمية لها مساهماتها الفاعلة في مجال عمل البرنامج.



الرؤية

أن يوفر معلومات وتحليلات متميزة في هذا المجال وذلك لمساعدة صناع القرار البحرينيين والخليجيين على رسم أفضل السياسات المعتمدة على الاعتبارات الدولية والجيو-سياسية.

الرسالة

  • إنتاج بحوث رصينة عن الشؤون الدولية والجيو-سياسية والاقتصادية البحرينية والخليجية
  • إنتاج بحوث في مجال الشؤون الدولية والجيو-سياسية والاقتصادية وفق مصالح صناع القرار البحرينيين والخليجيين
  • إنشاء منتدى لتبادل الآراء حول الشؤون الدولية والجيو-سياسية البحرينية والخليجية
  • تنمية مهارات الشباب البحريني في مجال البحث العلمي


أهداف البرنامج

  • إنتاج بحوث عن الشؤون الدولية والجيو-سياسية والاقتصادية البحرينية والخليجية تنشر في مجلات عالمية محكمة أو حسب احتياجات صناع القرار في مملكة البحرين ودول مجلس التعاون الخليجي.
  • إنتاج تقارير دورية عن شئون الدولية والجيو-سياسية والاقتصادية البحرينية والخليجية تستجيب لاحتياجات صناع القرار البحرينيين والخليجيين.
  • عقد ندوات وورش عمل للشخصيات ذات العلاقة بمجال عمل البرنامج وللباحثين والمهتمين في مجال الدراسات الدولية والجيو-سياسية.
  • إشراك الشباب البحريني في مختلف أنشطة البرنامج للمساهمة في تنمية مهاراتهم وخلق كوادر بحرينية متخصصة في مجال الدراسات الدولية والجيو-سياسية.


مهام البرنامج

  • إطلاق نشرة شهرية ترصد أحدث مستجدات الاقتصاد البحريني
  • إطلاق تقرير فصلي يحلل أهم تطورات الاقتصاد البحريني
  • التعاون مع مؤسسات بحرينية وخليجية رصينة لتوسيع طاقة البرنامج في مجاله
  • تنمية شباب البرنامج عبر مشاركته في إنتاج البحوث
المزيد
Close

Programs-International-and-Geopolitics
International & Geopolitical Studies

The Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) countries have been playing a significant role globally for a considerable amount of time and for numerous reasons, the most important of which are their unique geographical location along European-Asian trade routes, and the abundance of natural resources within their lands. The GCC economies strengthened considerably during the start of the new millennium due to the increase in oil prices and some success in terms of economic diversification. Moreover, they took on a more established regional role after the 2008 global financial crisis. These trends were reflected in the economic developments experienced by the Kingdom of Bahrain, most notably its transformation into a global financial capital for Islamic banking, and its ability to attract international capital that is looking for new opportunities outside the depressed European economy.



Based on the above, the International and Geo-Political Studies Program researches international affairs relating to Bahrain and the GCC countries, especially those pertaining to political and economic issues, and their implications for national, regional, and global security. The relationship between Bahrain and the global economy is central, as are issues relating to the oil and financial sectors, and the move toward economic integration underway for the GCC countries. Beyond this, the Program also investigates the effects of the latest geo-political developments on the interests of Bahrain and the GCC countries.



Due to the Kingdom of Bahrain’s geographical idiosyncrasies, there is a relative dearth of substantive research focusing on its economic affairs. Consequently, the Program aims to fill this gap, producing work that is tailored to the needs of Bahraini and GCC policymakers.



The Program will achieve these goals by producing innovative, peer-reviewed research in the areas of international, geo-political, and economic affairs, in addition to meticulous and informative reports. Beyond these goals, the Program will hold seminars and workshops with local, regional, and international participants known for their substantive contributions to the Program’s area of focus.



Vision

Delivering unique knowledge and analyses within the Program’s scope with the aim of assisting Bahraini and Gulf policymakers in making the best decisions that depend upon international and geo-political considerations.

Mission

  • Producing substantive research on Bahraini and Gulf international, geo-political, and economic affairs
  • Producing research within the area of Bahraini and Gulf international, geo-political, and economic affairs according to the interests of Bahraini and Gulf policymakers
  • Creating a platform for exchanging viewpoints concerning Bahraini and Gulf international and geo-political affairs
  • Developing the scientific research skills of young Bahrainis


Program Goals

  • Producing research on Bahraini and Gulf international, geo-political, and economic affairs for publication in international, peer-reviewed journals or according to the requirements of Bahraini and GCC policymakers
  • Producing regular reports on Bahraini and Gulf international, geo-political, and economic affairs that fulfill the needs of Bahraini and Gulf policymakers
  • Holding seminars and workshops for individuals relating to the Program’s areas of focus, and for researchers and those interested in international and geo-political studies
  • Partnering with Bahrain youth in a variety of the Program’s activities with the goal of developing their skills and producing a Bahraini taskforce specializing in international and geo-political studies


Program Duties

  • Launching a monthly bulletin that tracks Bahrain’s latest economic developments
  • Launching a quarterly report analyzing the Bahrain economy’s most important developments
  • Cooperating with serious Bahraini and Gulf organizations to expand the Program’s capabilities in its area of specialization
  • Developing the Program’s junior researchers by involving them in the process of producing research
read more...
Close